What database should I choose?

I’m new to databases, and I need to choose one for my new project.
I’m making a small app for storing data about the store, i.e. stock, prices, accounting.
Here I read that MySQL is a very good choice for beginners, though it’s not that good at scaling, and it might cost a pretty penny in the future for me.
What’s your opinion, is MySQL okay for a small store, or I need to choose something more complex?
What would be your recommendations?

I would opt for PostgreSQL . Totally free and very good.

3 Likes

+1 for PostgreSQL.

2 Likes

What databases do you have already running?

Like if you run a MySQL, PostgreSQL or MS SQL server for some other thing, you may just add a database there for your own stuff.

If you are just using the database for single user input rather than a full network server system then I would probably just stick with the built in SQLite.
We use PosgreSQL for our software but that is for use in a multi user multi system environment. To use PostgreSQL you’ll need to install the server separately to your application. Things get much more complicated once you are in that arena.
Regards,

Lee

3 Likes

+1 for SQLite until your needs determine you need more.
Then, +1 for PostgreSQL.

3 Likes

Performance is less of an argument for me. Most databases are very good for a very loooong time, if you are starting small. MySQL or MariaDB has the advantage that you will find more (or more easy) help on the internet.

Both have very good documentation.

MySQL is probably a bit easier for a beginner. postgres for instance is stricter on case sensitivity and it is more complicated to alter tables (for instance if you want to sort your fields (not the content of the fields) after your initial design. On the other hand, postgres being more strict has a huge advantage too: you are learning as a beginner how to do things right. MySQL has a bigger tolerance but one day you might have to pay for that tolerance.