Web database example project

While doing research into web edition I wanted to set up a simple app that will connect to a local database and make modifications. From looking around, I’ve seen that I should be worried about some issues with the session global variables, as well as some other finicky elements in WE when working with databases.

Is there an example WE project that includes any database code to look at to see where it is best practice to store information about the database/session/etc and how best to access and modify database information specifically from a Web App? I have plenty of experience in databases on desktop apps, but it looks like things are different for WE apps with databases.

Thanks!

Have you tried the example projects Sample Applications> Eddies Electronics> Web? That’s the same project that xojo uses in their demo website app.

Yes, the Eddie’s Electronics web example is a good place to start. I also briefly touch on DB access in the SQLite webinar from last week.

http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/Videos

The short of it is that you should have a separate DB connection for each user session. If using SQLite, you likely also want to set MultiUser = True to enable write-ahead logging for fast disk writes. Otherwise, DB access is not really all that different between a web app and a desktop app.

I have a web app that has been deployed for ever a year. I’m genuinely curious what these finicky issues are that you came across?

Thanks, that example is perfect. I was only looking within the Examples > Web Folder, and Examples > Databases folder.

People have had other posts about issues using the pseudo global session method, sessions and databases getting mixed up, and issues related to using SQlite with multiple users.

I haven’t encountered any of these, that was just what I’ve found while looking into Xojo web apps on the forums here.