[WE] starting to play with it more.. have questions for y'all

Ok, Ok, Ok, I am a little behind on the WE front. I just started playing with it in the last weak-ish.

Q: Do you deploy as stand-alone or as CGI? and why?

Q: on stand-alone, do you have anything special in your startup script other than “path/to/WE/WEapp &”

any particular gotchas do I need to be worried about when deploying WE apps? I am hosting this VPS at Linode.com (got some free credits from the Perl community to try them out).

thanks
sb

In my opinion CGI.

From my understanding, CGI is a way to “plug into” a web server such as Apache or IIS. Stand-alone works as the name implies… a stand-alone app without needing to configure a seperate web server.

CGI is better geared for a heavy user load than stand-alone, but requires a bit of knowledge on how to set it up on Apache and/or IIS.

Not sure about this one.

CGI is not the way for a heavy load. Every request is a “Run this program”. This means “Load, allocate memory, run, unallocate memory, die”. Imagine that for 5000 users at the same time. Many small servers will go unresponsive after 500 simultaneous requests.

For a heavy load the way should be FCGI, where it loads once, serves many, and just really dies after not being used anymore.

Not shure how good their stand alone version works. That should be the WebServer+Apps all in one solution.

Standalone does not require a web server as it essentially IS a web server.

It also, in my experience, has had better latency issues since it always running. The cgi way checks to see if the app is running, if not it spin up and then passes the information to it. Once the app timeout expires with no activity the app dies and then waits for the cgi to start it up again.

I believe that once they get the SSL version working it will only work in standalone. Don’t quote me on that one since I’m not entirely sure.