Universal Binary compatibility with old versions of MacOS

I built a universal binary and one of my users couldn’t use it - she said there was a message something like the file was corrupt. This is a non-technical user with an older Mac - I don’t know how old. I built an Intel binary and it worked fine.

The question: Do older versions of MacOS not understand the universal binary?

Most of my users are on Windows, and I’m really a novice with Mac. So I appreciate any information or advice. Thanks.

Universal binaries have been there for over 10 years.

PPC + Intel apps have been there on the last transition.

So older OS can handle it.

1 Like

You can even build one app with

• PPC 32-bit
  • PPC 64-bit
  • Intel 32-bit
  • Intel 64-bit
  • Apple Silicon 64-bit

and put them all in one app.

Could have been user error. But I can also see how older OS wouldn’t know what to do with more recent binaries. I remember the days of PPC and Intel - wasn’t sure the current universal is the same. Thanks!

Did you code sign the software? The user may have misinterpreted Apple’s deliberately frightening message about unsigned apps.

2 Likes

UB has been around for a long time, with the format being unchanged.

You need to know what version of the macOS the customer is running.

Not code signed. Working on that … but without a developer ID - software isn’t being sold and only a few Mac users. Still learning Mac stuff…

Start there. ARM code absolutely requires a signature to run, even in debug - the IDE does this quietly for us. I suspect this is why an intel-only build worked for you, but that confuses me since you’re asking about older macOS and this would be a Big Sur / ARM issue.

Does that mean a xojo compiled app loaded on another M1 machine from a stick needs to be signed? If so that is very bad for “citizen developers” doing things for inhouse use at work!

1 Like

The way I understand it, yes.

Note that this is not a Xojo requirement, this comes from Apple.

1 Like