stupid question about listbox colors

I’ve written a datebook app, but I’d like to have one row colored yellow if the date in column 0 matches the current date. I’m working in cellbackgroundpaint…seems logical to me, but I keep getting “outofbounds” errors when I run the app. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here’s what I trying:

dim d as New Date if me.cell(row,0) = d.AbbreviatedDate then g.ForeColor = &cFFFF80 g.FillRect(0, 0, g.Width, g.Height) end if

I realize this is likely a stupid request, but then I’m not very experienced, so please be patient with me. :wink:

I solved it.
Seems I needed:

if column = 0 then if row >= me.ListCount then exit else if me.cell(row,0) = d.AbbreviatedDate then g.ForeColor = &cFFFF80 g.FillRect(0, 0, g.Width, g.Height) end if end if end if

Thanks anyway, folks. :slight_smile:

dim d as New Date
if row < me.ListCount then
    if me.cell(row,0) = d.AbbreviatedDate then
      g.ForeColor = &cFFFF80
      g.FillRect(0, 0, g.Width, g.Height)
    end if
  end if

In the help it says…

CellBackgroundPaint fires for every visible row in a ListBox, regardless of whether there is an actual row there or not. This enables you to implement the background paint event for the entire ListBox in a consistent way. For example, to do alternating row colors. Because of this, you need to check whether the current row is less than ListCount when accessing the row, for example with the Cell method.

so you need to put something like

if row < me.listcount then ... end if

around your code

Thanks guys, must have figured it out as you were typing your replies. I appreciate the help, nonetheless.

I check the last row for the word missing (all cases) and draw the Row background using a magenta flavour.

Nice as a recaller…

Same kind of code.

BTW: warning about the use of AbbreviatedDate. This may (or not) work on your computer but can gives various answers on someone’s other computer (especially for people not using USA dates…)