So frustrated with iOS development

I’ve been a Xojo developer for 20 years and I decided to work on my first ever iOS app.

I have spent the last 3 hours trying to get the most basic app (literally a single button on the screen) on to my personal iPad.

The app launches in the simulator fine.

I have created a developer account, created the required certificates as outlined in two of Xojo’s blog posts.

I have connected my iPad via USB. I can get to the point where the app transferred to my iPad but it just launches to a white screen for about 30 seconds then fades to black and gives up.

The issue seems to be identical to this one: iOS app on real iPad can't connect to the debugger - #22 by Arnaud_N

Unlike that post, I don’t have airplane mode enabled.

I accepted all connections when prompted.

I have restarted the iPad and Mac multiple times.

For reasons I cannot understand I cannot get the debugger to connect - it is hopeless.

I’m running macOS 13.5, Xcode 14.31 and iPadOS 16.5.1.

I’m wondering if @Greg_O has any thoughts?

Check your build settings. You must have a team assigned and the build type should be set to App Store IIRC.

Also, what version of iOS is on your device and what version of Xcode are you using?

Edit:sorry, I see that in your post.

OK.

For reasons that are not understood at all, some combination of rebooting is allowing me to debug on device.

One weirdness that I can’t explain and is very un-Xojo like is that sometimes I have to delete the app from the iPad in order to get things working again. When that happens, you have to follow Greg’s advice from the post linked above and accept network connections and then immediately quit the app from within Xojo. Ignore any error messages on the iPad and then Cmd-R from the IDE again. This seems to allow the debugger to connect most of the time.