Odd character output from DateTime.ToString on macOS Sonoma

With the following code in a new app window.opening event I output the current time to a TextArea using the new and old DateTime objects to test:

Var d1 As DateTime = DateTime.Now
Var DateStrNew As String = d1.ToString(Locale.Current, DateTime.FormatStyles.None, DateTime.FormatStyles.Short)

Var d2 as New Date
Var DateStrOld As String = d2.ShortTime

TextArea1.Text = DateStrNew + EndOfLine + DateStrOld

I build this app as a Universal (Intel/Arm) app.

When I run this app on Intel MBP macOS 10.15.7 I get the following output for both date objects:
1:37 pm
Loading this text into an app to show the bytes I see:
31 3A 33 37 20 70 6D

When I run this app on a M1 MacMini with macOS Sonoma (natively and via Rosetta) I get the following output for both date objects:
1:37 pm
Loading this text into an app to show the bytes I see:
31 3A 33 37 E280AF 70 6D
The space character is represented by E280AF. I’m no expert on character codes but this is breaking my app that exports the data and time in the footer of my PDF using DynaPDF as DynaPDF doesn’t understand what this is.

Can anyone reproduce this? Is this intentional or shall I log this as a Xojo bug?

Many thanks

Xojo 2021r3.1
MBS 22.1

End of line is 0A. Not sure why you think that this is a problem.

The space between the time and “pm” is a Unicode Non-Breaking Space. This is a feature of typesetting that tells the rendering system “don’t break up these two pieces of text even though they have a space in between them”. So you’ll always see:

1:09 pm

and never

1:09
pm

You can safely replace it with a single space for use in your PDF:

pdfText = ReplaceAll(timeText, Chr(&hE280AF), " ")

2 Likes

As an aside to the Xojo engineers working on PDF support: non-breaking spaces and non-breaking hyphens are very useful in typesetting and should be a part of the PDF functionality.

Only that the 20 (space) character is represented by E280AF, not 0A.