Not available in your country

Ive had a few error reports from people saying my macos app won’t run because it’s not available in their country.

I dont sell through the app store, and the USA (where they are from) is my biggest sales area. Loads of USA people are using this without issue.

What on earth can trigger this on macos?

Very foggily I recall this string was found in relation to Rosetta2 not being available.

Yeah. That’s what I thought might be the cause, but it’s definitely a ub app.

Did you get the exact error message from them, like a screenshot?

Just to verify it is indeed your app and what the message says exactly.

No. They asked for an immediate refund.

Maybe they are trying to run it under “Rosetta” anyway?

I’m no expert in building Desktop apps but what will happen if you have a plugin that is intel only and you build an ub app? Do you get a warning that some code is not arm?

There was forum thread 1 or 2 days ago where the crash log even hinted that the Xojo IDE was maybe running on Rosetta.

1 Like

Issue #76008

Tested here on a nice new install of Sonoma 14.4.1 and all is fine.
Doesnt even show a ‘run under Rosetta’ option in Get Info.
Ive sent them an ARM only build, lets see what happens

If its UB and does not show run under Rosetta, then thats reason to worry I think. Hinting that it will then automatically run under Rosetta.

Unless something changed in Sonoma regarding that. (I would need to test that).

The way it always was in the past…
Arm only app → Does not show option to run Rosetta.
UB App → Shows option to run under Rosetta.
x86 App → Does not show option to run Rosetta.

1 Like

But only if run on an ARM Mac. There is no Rosetta running on an Intel Mac, with or without Sonoma :wink:

2 Likes

FWIW, no resolution came of this.
Customer says ‘Apple was unable to help in any way’

Considering
a/ Part of their advice appears to have been ‘download on a phone and use Airdrop to move to the Mac’

and