How's Z-Order these days?

I’m sorry, it’s just been too long and I’ve been working with Xojo/Real since 2001. I’ve lost track.

There long has been issues with setting Z-Order’s of objects on a Window, both in design-time and run-time.

In the latest version of Xojo, is there any (reliable) way of making sure a control is on top of the others - mostly run-time dynamic, but also design-time?

This is not really an answer to your question…but, for Window at least, it is not recommended to overlay controls over each other. I’ve not noticed any issues with Z order in the IDE but I don’t really overlay controls so I rarely pay attention to the Z order. You might be able to open your old project in the latest version and fix the deprecations and give it a try.

1 Like

have you an example why you have one control overlapping an other?

a) As usual you have to test z-order yourself.
b) What do you expect to have changed or not changed?
c) Nested pagepanels with containers work fine.

What do you want to do with it. If you want to change it at runtime, it was still a PITA last time I checked.

Under Mac, I do not know how to set z-order at run time.

Under Windows, it is easier to do BringWindowToTop.
with https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/api/winuser/nf-winuser-bringwindowtotop

@Dale_Arends posted the declare here: Bring application to Front - #6 by Dale_Arends

On the Mac it is a simply declare, unless you do it from the mousedown event of the view you want bought forwards, in which case you have to send everything else backwards!

1 Like

You said above it was a PITA ?

It is if you wanna adjust the z-order on the view that the customer is directly interacting with, Xojo doesn’t like views/controls being moved around behind it’s back.