Help: running 32bit programs on 64bit Debian Linux server

Hi all; I’m an absolute beginner at all of this, so please forgive me if I’ve missed something daft. So…

1. A simple ‘Hello World’ program was uploaded to our server, running 64bit Debian Linux. Strangely, our web hosting company specifically requests that uploads be ASCII, so that’s what we did (since then, we’ve also uploaded a version as binary, trying to track down what’s going wrong).

2. I believe I’ve installed the 32bit compatibility libraries on the server, though the ‘sudo apt-get install ia32-libs-multiarch’ command brings up an ‘Unable to locate package…’.

3. When trying to run the ‘Hello World’ program on the server, we get the error message ‘Unable to launch application ‘Hello World’ on port 22896’. I understand this is normally due to permissions being wrongly set, or files wrongly uploaded. I don’t think this is the case here.

4. Uploading the program files as binary, incidentally, brings up the ‘Not found’ error.

So. On the understanding that my knowledge isn’t encyclopaedic, does anyone have any advice on how to troubleshoot this?

Thanks for your time

For the port error, check your firewall and make sure that the port is not blocked.

For the not found error, make sure the permissions are 755 (sudo chmod 755 myApp).

#1: Your host may say they only want ASCII uploads because they do not expect (or want) binary files uploaded. Is this shared hosting or a VPS?

#2: Make sure the “executable” bit is set for the app and the stuff in the Lib folder. In order to test the 32-bit libraries are installed properly, I’d recommend uploading a simple console app and seeing if that runs. Or a standalone web app. Once you know those run, you can move on to CGI.

3: Could be a whole host (pun intended) of issues that you may not be able to fix if you are using shared hosting. See here: http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/Deploying_Web_Apps_on_Linux

Thanks for the replies, guys. Ok, let’s see…