Getting started with MySQL

I’ve been coding with RealBudioXo for nearly 20 years but am only now getting around to databases. I have the MySQLCommunityPlugin installed in my plugins folder. I fired up the MySQLExample project but it can’t connect to the database. What to do?

Xojo 2021 r2.1 MacOS 10.14

What is the exception? Is MySQL running?

The exception is “database error”.

What do you mean “is MySQL running”? The documentation says only “In order to use this class, you must have the MySQLCommunityPlugin database plug-in in your plugins folder.” and “When the plug-in is installed, this class becomes available.” I haven’t seen anything about “running” MySQL.

You‘ll need to install the MySQL community server on your machine and run it.
www.MySQL.com

The community server allows multi- user connections. Xojo also has a built-in capacity of creating and accessing single user MySQL databases.

1 Like

Why couldn’t the documentation mention this? smh

The documentation is not always as detailed as one would wish, especially when approaching a new topic. :no_mouth:

Yeah, it was a rhetorical question :slight_smile:

From a licensing POV I would suggest Postgres, that is if you have a choice in the engine.

3 Likes

True. And on Mac, the postgres app is dead easy to install and to work with for development.

+1 for postgres vs mysql.

+1 for postgreSQL

Adding another vote for PostgreSQL. It is free and open source and far more mature.

Thanks for all the Postgre recommendations. I love that they provide excellent PDF documentation (albeit without a bookmarked navigation pane :roll_eyes: ). On the downside, it cannot be installed on my current web host, I’ll have to pay for a VPS and set it up myself, whereas I could turn on MySQL with a couple of cPanel switches. My needs will be very modest - just a handful of users and fairly sparse data.