Wrong Encoding?

Hello,

I have a lot of experience with SQLLIGHT databases.

Now I’m trying to deal with a MariaDB database.

When I overwrite an existing data record with rs.Column(“Description”).StringValue = “Hülltext”
and then look directly into the database, the text is entered like this: “Hülltext”

So I probably have an encoding problem. All attempts in the last few hours haven’t gotten me anywhere.

If I set the text to “Hülltext” with a database tool and then read it out, I correctly get the text “Hülltext”
(text = rs.Column(“Description”).StringValue)

So now the text “Hülltext” is in the database. If I edit the RowSet and save it without changing anything, the database will say “Hülltext” again.

rs.edit
rs.SaveRow
rs.Close

Where is my mistake?

Make sure your database is defined using UTF8. Also make sure all string assigned are Defined as UTF8 before being passed to the database. Also make sure that all strings retrieved are defined as UTF8 before you do anything with them. Use DefineEncoding if they are not set correctly. For example:

var MyString as String
MyString = rs.Column(“Description”).StringValue.DefineEncoding( Encodings.UTF8 )
1 Like

I never worry what the data looks like in some external database tool. If you define the encoding when you read it back into Xojo, you’ll get the correct results.

1 Like

You mean this setting?
grafik

or this ??

When working with MariaDB or MySQL I always add a “.DefineEncoding(Encodings.UTF8)” when reading or writing from/to the database.

It looks like collation settings on the server side are not always respected - maybe something in the mysql community driver…

How do you do that ?

with a database tool
The problem doing that is… you do not know what the database tool do.

Code the write by yourself, so you know what the encoding is.

If I edit the RowSet and save it without changing anything, the database will say “Hülltext” again.