Windows 10 DLL

Good Day,

I am new to Xojo and looking for some help in regards to windows dll files. I am very proficient with AutoHotKey and migrating into Xojo. It’s easy enough when working with dll calls in AHK but Xojo has a different way to go about it and looking to understand how.

I created a simple dll using PureBasic and looking to call a function from the dll and needed to understand on how to go about implementing that within Xojo.

It’s a simple dll with 2 functions: TaskbarShow and TaskBarHide

I wanted to create a simple button when pressed just calls the function. There is nothing that needs to get passed to the function.

Any help such as an example of code that I would use would be appreciated and understanding windows dll function calls.

Thanks

I have a feeling it’s pretty simple using declare statement and some form of a call to that function but just not sure without seeing an example to better undertstand and know the correct way for future.

In AHK was as easy as:

DllModule := DllCall(“LoadLibrary”, “Str”, myDll)
DllCall(“my.dll\TaskbarShow”)
DllCall(“FreeLibrary”, “Ptr”, DllModule)

Welcome to Xojo.

There’s quite a few snippets of windows declares around the forum, if they’ve been done already you can usually find them by putting their win32 call into search.

If you need a website to look up the types for conversion, take a look here [LINK REMOVED PER OP REQUEST]

There also GitHub - arbp/WFS: Windows Functionality Suite and GitHub - paullefebvre/winapilib: WinAPI Declare Library for use with Xojo but there’s not been many updates to those in a while, but they can be a good source of info to get you heading down the right track.

And of course Declare — Xojo documentation

Let us know if you still need help, post some snippets and we’ll try to point you in the right direction.

Edit: Ah I see you added some code, to call that you would use

Declare Sub TaskbarShow Lib "my.dll" ()
TaskbarShow()
3 Likes