Window Shake

Hi All,

I’m still learning my way around XoJo…

I found this code that will shake the window like when the Mac doesn’t like the password that was entered. I added it to a project of mine and the shake works great. I’m trying to get a short pause after the shake is complete before updating a label but it’s instantaneous. I’ve been playing with a second timer, but so far all of my attempts have failed. The Label is updating as soon as the shake starts.

The Shake routine is here: Article 19204: : Shake It!

Any thoughts?

Put the code to update Label in a method and call it after code to shake

I tried this and the results were the same.

Here’s what I’m doing when I want the shake and display the results. As before, the Shake works great. The Results are displayed properly as well, but that at same time the shake starts.

Shake()
ShowResult()

Shake()
myAwesomeTimer() → ShowResult()

Just a thought as I’m not at my Windows machine right now

The quick n dirty hack would be to wait for the timer to finish using DoEvents. This method would make the shake “synchronous” and the next line of code wouldn’t execute until the shake completes.

It’s a really lazy hack though… add this to the end of the Shaker.shake method:

// Wait for the Timer to finish
while pShaker.RunMode <> Timer.RunModes.Off
  App.DoEvents

wend

A better idea would be to use a delegate to call a “shake completed” method but that’s not as easy to copy and paste here into the forum.

1 Like

:grinning:

https://documentation.xojo.com/api/language/timer.html#timer-calllater

2 Likes

Thanks Tim! This works great and is just fine for my purposes. Right now, I’m just writing a bunch of simple apps to get more familiar with XoJo and to refresh my memory of this type of programming. It’s been years, but used to do VB and Delphi. :slight_smile:

You really should not use app.doEvents, especially when there is a much better solution. I’m honestly surprised that Tim suggested it.