Why does the IDE look like a Mac?

I’m just a hobby programmer and am somewhat confused by the look of the IDE. I use Windows and Linux exclusively… don’t have a Mac, don’t have access to a Mac, and can’t afford a Mac. Don’t get me wrong; I’m not anti-Mac, but just can’t justify the cost.

Anyway, please forgive the source (Wikipedia) - I read that the Xojo IDE is written with the current version of Xojo. Where I’m confused is that I thought Xojo is supposed to produce programs that look native to the environment in which they will run. OK, so I’ve played with the tutorials and my programs look like they should on Windows and Linux. So why does my IDE look like a Mac? Yes, it is taking some time to get used to but if it was written in Xojo then why does it not look like a native Windows program on my Windows box?

They used custom controls that look like OS X controls that they draw themselves for the IDE…

Most of the regular controls they supply are native to the platform and when they are not, they are drawn using OS routines so they look at home on each platform… They did not do that with the IDE

The term native is more of a reference to an application which uses the OS’s built in controls (i.e. the OS makes available to developers various controls and UI elements to make user interfaces which are familiar to the user already)

There isn’t really anything from stopping you using “non native” controls even if Xojo’s GUI toolkit is generally geared around native controls.

That said, Xojo was originally targeted at Mac with windows being added in after and most, if not all of Xojo developers are Mac fans…

Despite what Tony claims Karen’s answer is actually correct

We use a LOT of custom controls and they are currently styled to look the way they do which happens to make them look a lot like the Mac UI

[quote=23871:@Norman Palardy]Despite what Tony claims Karen’s answer is actually correct