Which DB system to choose?

Hi there,

I am new at Xojo and after spending countless hours googling for this I’ve decided to try to ask here…

I’m starting to develop a software based on a app I have developed in the past using Filemaker. It is an project management/accounting software that is based on a relational database and needs to be used by several users at the same time. For this reason I think I can’t use SQLite.

I’ve seen there is quiet a few solutions out there but I am wondering if there is any solution that would not require the need of installing a data server outside the app? Like an embedded database server? My main concern is for my clients to be able to install the software easily without needing to worry about installing mysql or other software. And of course have as little maintenance as possible needed.

Anyone can point me in the right direction?

Kind regards,
Raphael

CubeSQL is probably the easiest and simplest multi-user database server I can think of. Valentina is another but I don’t think it’s as simple.

FWIW, I have a client that uses CubeSQL and loves it. And you don’t have to do much different to work with it. Prepared Statements are different, but for the most part you won’t have to change much code.

If it’s a web app, you might be able to just use SQLite since the web app functions as a server and works locally with the SQLite DB.

If it’s a desktop app, you’ll need a db server. You could use SQLite via CubeSQL. Otherwise PostgreSQL and MySQL are popular choices. On the OS X, there is a pretty easy way to get it running: Postgres.app. Valentina (in the OmegaBundle now) might also be an option.

Indeed, for a web app, Sqlite is suitable for use in a small business by several people simultaneously. It can even be shared by multiple processes (multiple threads of course, but also several Xojo apps, as these applications are on the same web server).

By cons, it seems there is a problem in the xojo-sqlite bridge.