What a great community - and thanks!

I don’t see it often on this or other forums, but I would like to thank the Xojo community.

Through the use of this forum, the Xojo documentation and Xojo Youtube videos, I was able to successfully get my application running the way I wanted. I was working on a personal project (Solvent Dispensing tracker) to convert some Excel VBA and data into a application using SQLite.

I have been using Xojo on and off since 2008 when I came across RealBasic after getting my first iMac. I have used it to write a few small utilities to integrate with other applications at a former workplace.

I am by no means a professional programmer. I am more of a hobbyist since starting back in the early 1980’s with a Commodore Vic 20 and Commodore 64!

I mostly just lurk around on this forum picking up tips and tricks.

There are a few members I would like to mention whose indirect advice and informational postings helped me complete my project.

Eugene Dakin: I purchased and used your book “I Wish I Knew How to … Program SQLite with Xojo API2”. Very helpful to get the SQL syntax correct for accessing my Sqlite database. Plus a fellow Canuck and scientist.

Rick A: I always like reading your responses and the in-depth knowledge that you share on the forum.

Jeff Tullin: I made use of your explanation/pseudo code of how to place my database file properly in the Applications Folder.

There are probably other’s I have not mentioned, but the forum community as a whole is a great resource! Thank you all.

21 Likes

Xojo definitively have the best community ever. :heart:

2 Likes

You had me at …

Commodore Vic 20 and Commodore 64

:smiley:

2 Likes

Great post and congrats on completing your application.

This is a great community, and I often think about writing posts thanking everyone here. I am also guilty of lurking quite a bit, and hope I contribute more in the future.