Web Application vs Web Site

Hello,
I have Xojo Pro but am a complete beginner. I don’t have formal training in software development.

I read that Xojo web is used to develop web applications but can someone please give me a beginners description of the difference between that and a web site.

Ultimately I would like to use Xojo to make a Windows PC based web application where users of an android cellular phone/tablet can access this web application in the browser and read/write the associated SQLite database. The user would need to be able to read records and add some data back into the database. Some of the data from the user would be typed into fields on the Android screen but I would like some of it to be information the user doesn’t type such as date, time, and device sensor values.

I have not started this project and so far don’t know enough but can someone just give me a few beginners tips as to whether this type of thing is possible please.

Thanks,
David

What you have described is a web application. The only thing you might have trouble with is the part about device sensor values. Be default, for security purposes, there is a wall between the web application and the user’s device. There are ways around that provided that the user gives you permission to access device functions.

This might help…
http://developer.xojo.com/webinar-web-app-tutorial

[quote=389456:@David Neil]Hello,
I have Xojo Pro but am a complete beginner. I don’t have formal training in software development.

I read that Xojo web is used to develop web applications but can someone please give me a beginners description of the difference between that and a web site.