Web App Time Field

Hi,

I am quite new to Xojo and have read through the guide.
I would like to develop a web app mainly intended for tablet users. I have noticed for web apps, there is no date/time control, but only a date picker control. Therefore, I am thinking of collecting time information (hours and minutes) from end users using 2 separate number fields as shown in image attached.

Firstly, is this the best way to capture time in Xojo without having a time picker control? Do you have any better suggestions?

If this is an acceptable method, how can I:

1. Format the number field to 2 digits (i.e. show a leading zero if time unit is only one digit)

2. Set the min and max range for the number fields (i.e. hours 00-23 and minutes 00-59) if the user chooses to type time unit in instead of using +/- buttons

The UI/UX should be appropriate for tablet touchscreen users.

In my web app, I use a webpopupmenu prefilled with the hour 00 to 23 and similar for the minutes. I don’t think users would like to click that plus button 58 times to get to 58 minutes.
You could just allow the user to enter a number then validate that the number is in range then format it to look correct.
It is up to you, but I always try to look at it from the users point of view.
Thanks

2 Likes

This is my approach too

Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 20.13.08

1 Like

ABSOLUTLY NOT. First of all, Xojo dont have client side code, that means, each time a user clicks the button, the web app sends the event to the server, the server does the math, then returns the new value. In other words, Xojo sucks for any user input action. The time for the roundtrip to the server is long enought to make the user think they didnt click the button, causing frustration and extra clicks.

And for the solution, like the others said, webpopupmenu is better.

There is a way worth to try. Add a WebTextField to the page and add this JavaScript in its Shown event: