Version/Source Control

I have been using Dropbox as a source control system (I know it’s not proper source control) for the past 2 years, developing a single project in Xojo. I work as a single developer and I have never looked into source control. I use code commenting and Dropbox to go back to previous versions of my code. I am developing a large project btw.

I am also curious as to how many people on hear also do not use source control.

What would be a good source control system for me? What systems and processes should I setup?

Thanks

Oh boy… you just asked a very loaded question. There is so many different pieces of advice. I think we’d be smart to tackle one piece at a time.

I’ll start with something simple. Stop using Dropbox and use Git. I personally use Subversion because it is what I’m familiar with and prefer, but the overall developer community is moving overwhelmingly to Git, so it would be smart to become comfortable with it.

[quote=179815:@Thom McGrath]Oh boy… you just asked a very loaded question. There is so many different pieces of advice. I think we’d be smart to tackle one piece at a time.

I’ll start with something simple. Stop using Dropbox and use Git. I personally use Subversion because it is what I’m familiar with and prefer, but the overall developer community is moving overwhelmingly to Git, so it would be smart to become comfortable with it.[/quote]
Well, how can I switch without having to pay anything? Maybe I could switch to hosting through my paid hosting. Idk.

I’l look into Git.

Thanks

BitBucket is free, that’s what I use. That said, I’m happy to shell a few bucks on this. I’ve had my rear saved a few times when I go down a rabbit hole :slight_smile:

+1 for Bitbucket, it’s free for private projects unlike github.

Thanks for all the advice guys.

[quote=179817:@Oliver Scott-Brown]Well, how can I switch without having to pay anything? Maybe I could switch to hosting through my paid hosting. Idk.

I’l look into Git.