VB conversion help

I am new to Xojo and, because I think the best way to learn a new product is to do something useful with it, I have undertaken a port of a VB program to XOJO. The VB converter is very good but it has left the following block of code untouched. I am assuming because there is no XOJO equivalent ? I would really appreciate someone helping me convert this block to XOJO ?

The block of code is:

Parameters: ByVal rconCommand As String , ByVal gameServerIP As String , ByVal password As String , ByVal gameServerPort As Integer
Return Type: integer
'---------------------------------------------------------
''connecting to server
Dim client As New Socket(AddressFamily.InterNetwork, SocketType.Dgram, ProtocolType.Udp)
client.Connect(IPAddress.Parse(gameServerIP), gameServerPort)
Dim command As String
command = "rcon " & password & " " & rconCommand
Dim bufferTemp() As Byte = Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(command)
Dim bufferSend(bufferTemp.Length + 5 - 1) As Byte
'intial 5 characters as per standard
bufferSend(0) = Byte.Parse(“255”)
bufferSend(1) = Byte.Parse(“255”)
bufferSend(2) = Byte.Parse(“255”)
bufferSend(3) = Byte.Parse(“255”)
bufferSend(4) = Byte.Parse(“02”)
Dim j As Integer = 5
For i As Integer = 0 To bufferTemp.Length - 1
bufferSend(j) = bufferTemp(i)
j += 1
Next i
'send rcon command and get response
Dim RemoteIpEndPoint As New IPEndPoint(IPAddress.Any, 0)
client.Send(bufferSend, SocketFlags.None)
'big enough to receive response
Dim bufferRec(64999) As Byte
client.Receive(bufferRec)
Return Encoding.ASCII.GetString(bufferRec)

Start by check out UDPSocket

Merek, I have also tried out the VB migration assistant, but it seems to be a real waste of time. It can’t give a working, ready to use compilation even from a simple “helloworld” VB6 app.

I don’t see why you would think it would do that. This is in the initial instructions on the VBMA startup screen:

For tips when migrating from VB, refer to the Migrating from Visual Basic page in the docs.