Validate ListBox Numeric Values

I’m new to Xojo; have a ListBox question.
I’ve populated a ListBox with data from my SQLite database - storing (let’s say) myMonth in Column 0 and myAmount in Column 1.

On the initial ListBox load (and subsequent updates),
–> I’ve placed the display value in Cell(row,col) and the raw value in CellRow(row,col)
–> In the CellTextPaint Handler I format column 1 (myAmount) using a currency format including a “$”, etc.

When the user selects the Col 1 cell to be edited, I would like to:
–> Replace the cell content with just the number (e.g. $123,456.34 becomes 123456.23)
–> Validate the entry when they leave the cell
–> On validation, if the entry is not numeric, return the cell value to its previous value
–> On validation, if the entry is numeric, store the raw number in CellTag and format the Cell value with “$”, etc.

A nudge in the right direction would be much appreciated … I’ve searched the examples and cannot find any cell validation routines

If isNumeric(replaceall(replaceall(s,"$",""),".","") then 

assuming “s” is your text value
but BECAREFUL… the US uses “.” [period] for decimal points and “,” [comma] for thousands
but Europe is the exact opposite in some cases

I’m sure Kem will come along shortly and give a RegEx that will work even better :slight_smile:

Thank you - that is helpful on the numeric validation part.
Still struggling with the sequencing of the Listbox and how to interrupt it.

– Assume the ListBox is populated
– User clicks in a cell and changes the cell value … then hits tab, clicks on a cell, etc.
– At that point, I want to “validate” the cell value (I have a method for that and can call it in CellAction)
— If Valid: continue on to the cell the user entered (I have that figured out - Just let CellAction do its thing)
— If Not Valid: I want it to stay on the cell just updated, revert back to the old value and give a MSGBOX message