Using canvas from a method

I have just converted my large project from Real Studio 2012 to Xojo 2019r2 and most of the code is executing fine after some tinkering.

The one thing I can’t seem to get working is my canvas related code…

I have a (global) method that handles my canvas stuff and for that I use the canvas as a parameter:

Globaal.ToonFoto Function ToonFoto(LokaalGrafics as graphics, Lok_Foto as string) As Picture

I can’t seem to get this to work. With the new Xojo approach to a canvas you need to put all code in the paint event?

(I am not a daily coder, only for one large project I manage and I have just switched from RS 2012 to Xojo 2019)

…and also calling a canvas from a method in the same window: I can’t seem to get it to work. :frowning:

You don’t. period.
All actions on a canvas must be done via that canvas PAINT event

this was changed sometime after 2012

I hope I understand your question correctly…

You can call a method (for example “DrawSomething”) from the paint event of the canvas by passing the graphics object to the method like this:

DrawSomething(g)

Of course the method “DrawSomething” needs to have a parameter “g as Graphics”.
Then in the method “DrawSomething” you can do your drawing onto g (the graphics object of the canvas), for example like this:

g.DrawRect(...) g.DrawPicture(ToonFoto, ...)

Everytime you call Canvas.Invalidate (for example from a timers “Action” event) the canvas will do the (re)drawing.

Also in this case, all drawing is done via the paint event, like Dave already said.

Strange thing is that I was able to run my RS2012 code in Xojo just about a year ago without too much changes. I was considering the switch then also, but the party I develop this project for was not ready for an investment yet. So this must have been removed in a recent Xojo update?

BUT: I was able to make a start in solving this…