URLConnection: cookie behaviour depending on OS

Hello everyone,

I’m new to XOJO, doing my first steps, and I got a bit confused by URLConnection’s cookie behaviour, and I wonder if this is somewhat intentional and its reason is just not obvious to me, or if it’s actually a bug.

con= New URLConnection
foo= con.SendSync("GET", someUrl)
bar= con.SendSync("GET", someOtherUrl)

The server of someUrl ist the same as of someOtherUrl. The response of line 2 contains a cookie sent by the server of someUrl.
On macOS the request of line 3 sends the cookie, which was received in line 2’s response.
On Windows the same request does NOT contain that cookie.

How can I achieve the behaviour as seen on macOS also to happen on Windows? I know that I could set the cookie(s) explicitly, but for that I would have to even know its content (but I found no way to read it from the response headers of the request in line 2). But even if I would know the cookie(s) set in line 2, it would be far more convenient if I wouldn’t have to deal with it myself but could just let the URLConnection handle it the same way as it happens on macOS.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Tom - have you given a look at the docs? WebCookieManager

I have been making use of these methods in some recent projects and they seem to work very reliably.

2 Likes

There’s a cookie bug with WebResponse ( see <https://xojo.com/issue/66772> ) no idea if that code is shared with URLConnection (I would guess not, but…?)

1 Like

Hi William,

Thank you for your reply.

I’m trying to create a Desktop application, and if(!?) I got it right, WebCookieManager is not available for those, but only for web applications.

I was able to solve it by manually reading and storing the cookies each time (which sadly also required to use HTTPSecureSocket instead of URLConnection). It works, but it’s a huge (and even deprecated) mess.

Thanks for your reply.