Upgrading to newest release

Currently we are using RB 2008 r4.2. I believe it’s time to upgrade but management has a different opinion. They won’t spend the money for the licensing unless I can provide clear reasons why we need to upgrade i.e., “does the new version have bug fixes and/or new features that we require or would like to have?”.

Is there an online change log I can use to build a list of reasons why we need the newer version?

Maybe this will help:
http://developer.xojo.com/release-notes

All are not there, but a lot are !

Alberto: you were some seconds faster than mme on that one !

Emile, thank you for pointing that out (all are not there). After following the Older Release and Legacy Release, I see notes from 2010 R 2.

Ron, I think you should read the release notes to see if there is some feature that you want or need, then download Xojo and try it. I’m new to Xojo but I guess a lot has changed since RB 2008 r4.2

Wow, that was fast. I step away from my desk for a couple minutes and there you are.

Thanks for the link. I’ll look that over in a little bit.

[quote=374507:@Ron Bergin]Currently we are using RB 2008 r4.2. I believe it’s time to upgrade but management has a different opinion. They won’t spend the money for the licensing unless I can provide clear reasons why we need to upgrade i.e., “does the new version have bug fixes and/or new features that we require or would like to have?”.

Is there an online change log I can use to build a list of reasons why we need the newer version?[/quote]

Depends on what platforms you are targeting. For desktop there lots of little bug fixes and some new things, but not much major in terms of functionality (lots of time spent on the new Xojo IDE and the new framework), unless you need 64 bit or Windows flicker matters to you… Some think the Xojo IDE is a step backwards from REALStudio.