Updating a runtime to 64 bit on Mac?

Hi,

I’m not a Xojo programmer, but I use a little program on Mac that was written in RealBASIC, called FractionAction. I’ve tried contacting the developer, but his website is no longer up and I’ve had no luck finding him. The application is 32 bit, and Apple is soon discontinuing support of 32 bit apps.

I was wondering if there is a way to update a runtime to 64 bit, without having the source code? Long shot, I know…

Thanks,

Tom

Sorry, no, it has to be recompiled from the source. But maybe this is an opportunity for you to become a Xojo programmer. :slight_smile:

I’m afraid not, you’d need the source to recompile it. What was it about? Perhaps you could try making your own?

Edit: Oh, beaten to it by 23 seconds. Also, great minds.

Keep in mind, although macOS 10.13.4 is showing a warning about 32-bit apps they will continue to work. And common understanding is that they will also continue to work in the next macOS release as well, albeit with perhaps more restrictions. It’s important to plan ahead, but it’s not likely to be an immediate problem soon.

And unlike if you update to High Sierra or to the next one, your application will not be impacted by that change.

There’s a difference between compiled and runtime based languages. Runtime makes it easier for the tool vendor to ‘port’ applications made with their tools to other platforms much easier; however this comes at a cost whereby the applications are slower (because they’re converted from a human readable language to machine code on the fly), it also severally cripples their capabilities. I’ve worked with some developers who use competing tools to Xojo and none of them can ship applications on the Mac App Store as none of the runtimes support the requirements of it.