Unable to launch application - now with undebugable issues!

I am no novice to linux system admin and unless I have lost my marbles and missed the obvious I am stumped.

I usually deploy apps in AWS, have done for years without issue.
Now I try and run a turnkeylinux LAMP stack on virtualbox and get the dreaded “Unable to launch application” error.
I have seen this many times and have simply refreshed but no it persists.

I am running Debian Weazy with all packages up to date
I have multiarch running with i386 compatibility
I have checked the permissions, they are fine.

When I check the apache logs I get

[error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] Can't exec "/var/www/cgi-bin/physioware": No such file or directory at /var/www/cgi-bin/physioware.cgi line 173.

naturally one jumps to the line of code in question highlighted in bold italics

[code]sub launch {
my ($port) = @_;

if ($is_windows == 1) {
            my $process;
            Win32::Process::Create($process, script_directory() . "/" . $app_name,"--port=".$port,0,$process_type,".") || return 0;
    } else {
            my @args = ("$app_path","--port=$port");
            [b][i]system(@args) == 0 or return 0;[/i][/b]
    }
    sleep(1);

return 1;

}[/code]

And when I check that /var/www/cgi-bin/physioware.cgi exists, sure enough it does.

What obvious signs am I missing?

Actually, the error is saying that the application itself is missing. It would be in the same directory, and simpy named physioware.

Its all in there…

root@physioware ~# ls -la /var/www/cgi-bin/ total 3648 drwxrwxrwx 4 root root 4096 Feb 10 03:48 . drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 Feb 9 11:34 .. -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 86 Feb 10 03:48 .htaccess drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 Feb 10 03:48 Resources -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 58 Feb 10 03:49 config.cfg -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3700957 Feb 10 03:48 physioware drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 Feb 10 03:48 physioware Libs -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6677 Feb 10 03:48 physioware.cgi