Try/Catch works on Mac & Linux but not Windows

This is a problem I’m having with Xojo 2016r3 and Windows 7. So, if it is a Xojo bug, then it may not be present in current versions.

I have a project that uses Bob Delaney’s big float plug-in to do some extended precision calculations. This plug-in doesn’t return NaN’s when there is a calculation error such as divide by zero. Instead it raises an exception. I have the calculations enclosed in a try/catch block. When I deliberately do a divide by zero to test the exception handling, this block correctly handles it on both Mac and Linux platforms. But on Windows, it’s not caught and was forcing the application to shut down, until I added an application.unhandledexception event handler. This is a clumsy way to have to handle these exceptions. I’m not an expert on exception handling. So, I may be missing something simple.

The code is fairly simple and looks like this:

try
     doBigfloatCalculation
  catch err as fpDivideByZeroException
     myErrorCodeStuff
  catch err
     myErrorCodeStuff
  end try

When it was causing the Windows version to quit, the error message that it gave was indeed fpDivideByZeroException unhandled exception.

Has anyone else run into this problem?

A log shot, did you try replacing the second catch err by catch err2 ?

I’ve never tried a Try statement with typed Catch and an untyped Catch but I’m guessing that may be the issue. Perhaps you should refactor it to a single Catch statement like

try
     doBigfloatCalculation
catch err 
     If err IsA fpDivideByZeroException then     
        myErrorCodeStuff
     Else
        myErrorCodeStuff
     End If  
end try

and see if that works for you.