Translation tool

Hi there, what is the best translation tool for Xojo?

In Ruby, there is https://ruby-gettext.github.io/

You just write in the code like _(“my Awesome Label”) and then with tools like poEdit you can translate that text in any language. Or, in our case: Translation is made by Customers.
Dont have to invent keys for every text piece, you just write the App in one language and then translate to another.

is there any similar tool for xojo?

Or, What do you prefer?

Thanks,
Christian

For Xojo there is an app called Lingua which really sucks. Thomas Tempelmann wrote an app called Open Lingua. I updated the app and added Deepl support. With Open Lingua you can also export to csv and then import the changed valued from csv. App is available at Xojo + Alfred .

So, i see that that, my idea, not is available yet.
Currently i do’nt have the time for writing ist.
I am a Ruby Programmer, i wrote just 2 apps in Xojo.
But it could save a lot of time for many developers, so i post the idea, for the case anyone wants to write it.
And if, i also want to use it :slight_smile:

At the end it would be not more than a little command-line tool and one xojo class.

So, let’s say, having a Xojo Class, called “L”, with a single constructor method and a command line tool, call it “xojo-translator” by example. In class App could be a string property “CurrentLanguage” for that the class “L” would be always referring to.

Inside the App Code:

a) label1.text = L(“Create new record”)
b) label2.text = L(“Create next record”)
c) label3.text = L(“main-window|Create new record”)
=> all before the pipe is a optional, internal, additional key, for separating translations. Escaping of pipe should be possible, if you need pipe as text
d) label4.text = L(“Create new record”)
=> same as a) results in one translation for both

and, if nothing more is done, the Labels on the UI would result in:

a) “Create new record”
b) “Create next record”
c) “Create new record”
d) “Create new record”