Toggle global window Mac

I’ve searched the forum, Googled, and even ChatGPT’d.

I was hoping to be able to add an option to toggle the main window between global floating and document (or any other that would work), but no luck so far. I see other programs like VLC can do it.

I had high hopes when ChatGPT hallucinated this solution:

MainWindow.Type = DesktopWindow.Types.GlobalFloating

Sadly, it appears to be a read-only attribute.

I’m running on an M1 Mac.

Do I have to create two windows of each type (global and document) and then only show one or the other? That seems like a lot of work for something that seems should be as simple as OpenAIs hallucinated solution.

Thanks.

You could do this with Declares. Here’s the NSWindow attribute:

Thank you Eric.

I’m encouraged that there appears to be a more accessible solution. Sadly, I failed to mention that I am not a professional programmer by any stretch. I would classify myself as an intermediate hobbyist at best. About half the time, I rely on ChatGPT to request code and then use that as a learning opportunity. It’s a challenging approach, as ChatGPT seems to be a little confused about Xojo and the various code updates over the past couple of years.

I will take your message as yet another opportunity to research and learn. However, if you’re feeling gracious and would care to take pity on a train wreck like myself, I would greatly appreciate any guidance regarding the Xojo code to achieve this. My preliminary attempts have fallen short.

Many thanks.

Oh! Hey! I got it. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction. This was my first declare and use of the Cocoa API. Bumpy ride, but I finally got there.

Thanks again!

1 Like

You’re welcome! Glad that was enough of a hint, because now you’ve picked up a new skill. :trophy:

My goal exactly.