Timer doesn't work

Hello,

I’m new to xojo and I’m really struggling with something very simple.
I would like to delay a process. I managed to have it half working using thread.sleep but I don’t think it’s the best way forward.
What I’m trying to do is to have e.g. 3 boxes. In array I’d like to have a sequence of values between 1 - 3. I’d like to read these values and if 1 than change colour of the box 1 let’s say for 1 second and then change it back to it’s original colour, then do the same for the second number stored in array and so on.

I tried to follow the documentation explain how to use timer but with no luck and no idea why.

Can anyone help please? Thanks a lot.

Happy to help, but keep in mind that Timers work just fine for the majority of us, so it would help to know how you’re trying to implement your Timer. Did you put it on a Window? Did you fill its Action event with code and, if so, what code? Where and how are you trying to activate it?

The more detail you provide, the better.

@Kem Tekinay Thank you for your response!

Here is what I’m trying to do. When clicked button do this:

For Each cislo As Integer in cubeOrder()
If i=1 Then
Window1.Rectangle1.FillColor = &cc9dd69
//time delay e.g. 1 sec should be here
Window1.Rectangle1.FillColor = &c000000
ElseIf i=2
Window1.Rectangle2.FillColor = &c349823
//time delay e.g 1 sec should be here
Window1.Rectangle1.FillColor = &c000000
End If
Next

To be honest I’m not really sure how to implement the timer. I found somewhere this: App.SleepCurrentThread(500) but for some reason it works e.g. with sounds (play sound, delay, play another sound) but when I was trying to change the colour of the box it wouldn’t work. No idea why.

Thanks a lot for your help.