The issue of dynamic IP's

Hi,

I’m new to web app. development and I have a burning question regarding dynamic IP addresses.

If a host PC, running a web app. has a static IP address - then obviously the users will always know the IP address and can connect to the web app. no problem.

However, what if the PC has a dynamic IP address which changes from time to time. Obviously the users won’t know the new IP address unless they go hunting around for it - which is all very inconvenient, if not a complete no no for a web app.

How on earth do you go about solving this issue? Is it an I.T. issue? are I.T. responsible for making the IP static, or are there other techniques to somehow “fixing” the location of the web app.?

Thank you

Darren

You can use a dynamic DNS service. I use no-ip.com. You can install a client app on your server and when it detects an IP change it updates the dynamic DNS service with the new ip so users visit a ‘chosen name’, i.e. myhost.ddns.net, and this always then points to the right place.

In addition some internet providers/IT departments can provide a fixed IP address if you ask.

Hi Paul,

Thank you, but is this a suitable method for a commercial product?
The web app. will be used by engineers/technicians on their company LAN.

Ideally, any software installation (including web app. on a LAN PC) should require minimal or better, zero configuration.
If an engineer or technician was to install the web app. on a LAN PC, they are very unlikely to have skills to set a static IP or use no-ip.com or similar.

Are you saying that an I.T. professional will always be required to install/configure a web app. if a static IP or fixed name / domain is required?

What I’m saying is:

I would rather the web app. be completely configure-less.
Install-and-go… if you like, much like a desktop app.

Or is this impossible? am I dreaming?