Text input/outputstream help

Hello :slight_smile:

I’m a Xojo beginner so bear with me if I ask stupid questions along the way :sweat_smile: I have managed to make an app for Raspberry that has different properties updated by a timer.
For example if the MainPump is active the timer will +1 every second to the property MainPumpCounter.

I have four properties stored as integers:
MainPumpCounter
VibrationCounter
SpaCounter
MachineTimeCounter

However I have ran against the wall when trying to add two event handlers to the app.

Eventhandler1)
When the program is closed I would like it to save the properties to a textfile in a folder on the desktop called Miberi
The textfile I would like to be named MachineProperties
In the file should then be stored the four properties
If the file already exits it should be overwritten (the .create function as far as I understand)
This process I’m trying to do without the showdialog (the program should do it in the background without user envolvement)

Eventhandler2)
When the program is opened I would like the program to read the text file (if it exits) and overwrite the current value of the four properties

I hope your bright minds can help me on this puzzle as I have spend hours googling and reading the forums + xojo docs but can’t seem to put the puzzle together on how to get it to work :cold_sweat:

Thanks in advance for your kind help

Eventhandler1 would be the close/closing event of your application and look something like

Var t As TextOutputStream = TextOutputStream.Create(SpecialFolder.Desktop.Child("MachineProperties"))
t.WriteLine(MachineTimeCounter.ToString)
t.WriteLine(MainPumpCounter.ToString)
t.WriteLine(SpaCounter.ToString)
t.WriteLine(VibrationCounter.ToString)
t.Close

EventHandler2 would be the open/opening event of your app and look something like

Var f As FolderItem = SpecialFolder.Desktop.Child("MachineProperties")
If f.Exists Then
  Var t As TextInputStream = TextInputStream.Open(f)