Text Area - Styled Text (HighLight)

I’m pretty new to styled text, but was just starting to play around with it.

It is possible to paste highlighted text into a text area, but I don’t know how to do this via code.

One hackish way to do it is with Word, but this is not a good solution for obvious reasons.

dim w as new WordApplication dim d as WordDocument = w.Documents.Add d.Activate dim s as WordSelection s = w.Selection s.TypeText "This is a Test." s.WholeStory S.Range.HighlightColorIndex = 7 s.Copy TextArea1.Paste w.DisplayAlerts = false w.Quit

Anyone have some ideas, before I report this to Xojo as a feature request?

Are you asking how to insert text into a Styled Text area, then apply the styling of your choice to it?

If so… very simple.
Look at

• SELSTART
  • SELLENGTH
  • SELBOLD
    etc.
    and also STYLERUNS

here is an example for the registration screen of one of my apps

Dim days As Integer=DaysRemaining
Me.selstart=0
Me.SelLength=0
Me.SelBold=True
Me.SelUnderline=True
Me.SelTextColor=&cf0f0f0
Me.seltext="Register "+pgm_name+" now."+EndOfLine

Me.SelBold=False
Me.SelUnderline=False
Me.SelTextColor=&cf0f0f0
If days>0 Then 
Me.seltext= _
EndOfLine+ _
"This is an evaluation version of '"+pgm_name+"', and has no restrictions over the full version. " + _
"However the evaluation period expires in "+Str(days)+" days. "+ _
"  Otherwise it is 100% functional."+EndOfLine+EndOfLine+_
"To purchase the Full version and unlock all the functionality, just click the "
//

Else
Me.seltext= _
EndOfLine+ _
"This evaluation version of '"+pgm_name+"', and has expired. " +EndOfLine + _
"If you wish to continue to use "+pgm_name+" you must purchase a license key, just click the "
pbDEMO.Enabled=False
End If

Me.SelBold=True
Me.SelTextColor=&c00ee00
Me.seltext="'Buy Now'"
//
Me.SelBold=False
Me.SelTextColor=&cf0f0f0
Me.seltext=" button below, or enter an existing registration passcode for "
//
Me.SelBold=True
Me.SelTextColor=&ceeee00