TCPSockets, error 103

Hello all, I have been looking at different code (matlab, java, c++) until I finally arrived to Xojo mainly because of the multi platform characteristic. I am trying to program a software to teach my students some Game Theory, as what is on line does not comply my requirements.

For that I started studying the good-easy to read- guide that it is posted here . I was trying to establish some communication between a “Server (me, the teacher)” and the students “clients”, so the first thing I wanted was to set up a communication, and after exploring the net, I saw that TCPSocket could be added very simply to the interfaces. I moved forward but I was failing at every attempt, so I decided to go back to the guide above and review chapter 11.

I just wrote down the code in the first example (connect to google.com) but including an error message to check if everything was going fine, and to my surprise, it failed systematically, not only with Google, but with any other address I tried. I even tried with “localhost” but I am not sure if it was supposed to work. I think it might the case that the network (or system) in which I am operating could be the responsible:

Computer is Linux Mint 17.2 64 bits, but Xojo is running in a Virtual Machine (VBox) with Windows 7 64 bits. It runs just fine, and all the Internet connections have been set up (so Windows in the VM can update itself, Office365 got installed beautifully, etc). The host runs through a Proxy (the University proxy), but it has been configured properly, so the computer has plain access to the Internet.

Finally if through the “cmd” in Windows 7 (VM) I ping google.com or google.pt (I’m in Portugal) I got “timed out”, while if I ping “localhost” I got the normal “<0.1ms” ping.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

With Xojo gets installed many examples programs.
If you need a working example for socket connections please look at “Communication\Internet”.