Subclassing Object Properties (Font Colour, Alignment, etc) - Limitations in Xojo?

I’m new to Xojo and love it! I have been a database developer for 30 years (mostly Visual FoxPro). In FoxPro, I would subclass just about every control (label, textbook, etc.) and create my own customized controls with different fonts (or any number of other properties), as well as methods (validation, behaviours, etc). When you used those customized controls in forms, you’d see their customized properties at design-time. WYSIWYG at design-time and runtime.

I can subclass the label object in Xojo and set a different font, or make it bold, but only using code in the Open event handler. The main problem is this - when I drag the subclassed label to a window, it does not show those customized properties at design-time, in the IDE. This can present a challenge if I want to arrange my subclassed objects based on fonts I have chosen and alignment issues occur because what I see in the IDE is different than what’s displayed at runtime.

Am I missing something?

Thanks!

when you create a new class that is a subclass of an existing control (or even a class from scratch)
the properties you want to appear in the IDE need to be computed properties
then RIGHT click on the new class in the Navigator (left side panel) and select INSPECTOR behaviour, there you can make properties visible as well as set default value…

Dave - thank you for your response! I actually did make the changes in Inspector Behaviour as you described, but those changes did not propagate to existing labels that were dropped onto the window. In other words, it seems to only have an effect when the customized class is subsequently dropped onto a window.