Strange UTF16BE/UTF16LE string umlaut encoding behaviour under OSX

Hi Guys,

I’m pretty new to Xojo and thus for tryouts converted some code of one of my Java progs over to it, in order to get familiar with the used RealBasic language, the IDE and so on. The program I wrote for tryouts so far is a OSX based console application, which when run from inside the IDE is given some command line arguments (file paths and search/replace strings) as options. Since the program alters specific binary format files it works internally with binary buffers, for Xojo I used MemoryBlocks here instead. - I try to describe now the Xojo r1.1 problem I encountered under OSX, interestingly here is, that the same project code runs/works just fine instead under Xojo r1.1 for Windows.

I use some methods like the following here …

[code]Public Function GetBytesUTF16BE(str As String) as memoryblock
dim s as string = str
s = ConvertEncoding(s, encodings.UTF16BE)
dim m as memoryblock = s
return m

End Function
[/code]

… for converting from the OSX console passed over command line string args into UTF16BE/LE memoryblocks for the app. Here for OSX the converted strings via ConvertEncoding(s, encodings.UTF16BE) do always have wrong/false Umlaut byte presentations inside the binary blocks. So under OSX it seems that Umlauts () in UTF8 Strings are only converted to ??? question mark bytes instead to their right UTF16 byte representation. - I partly saw this too in the Xojo r1.1 OSX debugger, which BTW seems also to have problems for showing up UTF16 bytes with Umlauts here.

Strange is, that under Windows in Xojo all that works fine with the conversion and also the Umlauts are handled correctly.

Does anybody have an idea what might gets wrong here for OSX, or how to overcome with this?

Why use UTF16 for a European language ? UTF-16 is only necessary for Asian languages. UTF-8 supports perfectly Umlauts.

UTF-8 is perfect for all languages.