SQLite

Hello,
Can I use SQLite for an Application which runs on a network. Database is read & write by 5 to 10 users at a time? what about the speed for read, write & queries?
Thanking you,
Regards,
Dhiraj

You can but you shouldn’t :wink:

If you want to share a database on a network go for a client/server option.

CubeSQL is your friend (https://www.sqlabs.com/cubesql.php)

speed depends on data quantity.

speed depends on the quality of the query

+1 for Cubesql.

++1 for Cubesql :smiley:

speed depends on the data base size and the kind of query.

Thanks to all of you. I need a database having 2 features 1. No installation 2. Free
Regards,
Dhiraj

I preface this comment with the acknowledgement that I have NO EXPERIENCE with cubeSQL.

I see this in the FAQ of cubeSQL website. It seems a little strange to me that they have not migrated to the verbiage of XOJO.

[quote]Can I access cubeSQL from languages other than REALbasic?
Yes. cubeSQL can be accessed from PHP, C, JSON and any application that support the Open Database Connectivity (ODBC) standard.[/quote]

Gives me an uneasy feeling that they are not really “on the ball”.

There is no server without installation. For free you can get PostgreSQL. Valentina also can be used as SQLite server. They hide that pretty well.

for postgres, I can recommend “postgres by bigsql” for their hassle-free installers
http://www.openscg.com/bigsql/

for a normal postgres, you have a lot of work before it works as a server.

An alternate solution might be to write a web app that interfaces with the actual database and a desktop app that accessed the web app. There are examples of this (video) on the xojo webinar pages.
That way, the web app handles the database traffic from multiple users. I haven’t done this, but it looks interesting

Sorry guys, but I think SQLite can be good choice.