Sql prepare and like

Hi! I’m new to xojo, I’m getting stuck with this query on a mssql server db and a xojo webapp…

ps = db.Prepare(“SELECT DTA_STUDE.CODSTUDE, ANA_STUD.COGSTUDE, ANA_STUD.NOMSTUDE, DTA_STUDE.CODFSRED, DTA_STUDE.SALBUONI, DTA_STUDE.VALBUONI FROM DTA_STUDE INNER JOIN ANA_STUD ON DTA_STUDE.CODSTUDE = ANA_STUD.CODSTUDE WHERE DTA_STUDE.CODSCUOL = ? AND DTA_STUDE.CLASTUDE = ? AND DTA_STUDE.SEZSTUDE = ? AND DTA_STUDE.CODANNSC = ? AND ANA_STUD.TIPSTUDE= ‘S’ AND ANA_STUD.COGSTUDE LIKE ? ORDER BY ANA_STUD.COGSTUDE”)
ps.BindType(0, MSSQLServerPreparedStatement.MSSQLSERVER_TYPE_STRING)
ps.BindType(1, MSSQLServerPreparedStatement.MSSQLSERVER_TYPE_STRING)
ps.BindType(2, MSSQLServerPreparedStatement.MSSQLSERVER_TYPE_STRING)
ps.BindType(3, MSSQLServerPreparedStatement.MSSQLSERVER_TYPE_STRING)
ps.BindType(4, MSSQLServerPreparedStatement.MSSQLSERVER_TYPE_STRING)
ps.Bind(0, SpScuola.Text)
ps.Bind(1, SpClasse.Text)
ps.Bind(2, SpSezione.Text)
ps.Bind(3, Login_Page.SpAnnoSco.Text)
ps.Bind(4, RicercaCognome)

the problem is referring to a WebSearchField (is called RicercaCognome). If I put the entire value of the field (for example ‘ROSSI’) it works, but If I put only the beginning of the field value (for example ‘ROS’) no record is returned.
Maybe is wrong something in the query?

please, give me an hint…

regards,

cirollo

Try with

[code]ps.Bind(4, RicercaCognome + “%”)

[/code]

If you use LIKE in a PreparedStatement, you need to add % and _ to the String you Bind.

ROS% will find all that starts with ROS
%ROS will fin all that ends with ROS
%ROS% will find all that contains ROS
RO__I will find all that starts with RO followed by 2 chars and ends with I
and so on :slight_smile:

In short terms, use @Wayne Golding advice :slight_smile:

Wayne,

tried your suggestion but I get this error…

undefined operator. type websearchfield does not define “operator_add” with type textliteral

Not at my Desk, but try the following:

ps.Bind(4, RicercaCognome.Text + "%")