Simple animation

Hi,I am a beginner learning xojo. I recently saw an excellent video called basic animation, using the timer control. It worked well and inspired me to try more. I am creating a dice game and created 5 canvas controls using 6 frames representing different faces of the dice finally stopping on the face I want. It works great for all 5 dice with realistic “rolling of the dice”. I disable the timers during the screen open event, then reenable them with a button called “roll”. All this works well. The question I have is how can I set it up so I can re-roll a particular dice, or even re-roll all dice. It always displays the initial roll and nothing seems to happen. I am sorry that this may be a trivial matter, and any documentation I have read gets complex very quickly (although I am sure it’s all there somewhere) Would really appreciate any help.
Thanks, Carl.

It really depends on how you have implemented things as there are many different ways to do this and its a little tricky to advise on which direction you should go next without know which route you went.

E.g. if you have a variable which is your target value (the dice roll) and a current frame counter and things stop when the two match then you just need to move the target value of one of the dice and the roll will happen until it gets back to the two matching each other.

This is of course if you just leave the timer running. If you stop the timer when all dice hit their target then you will need to have a little rethink of your code so you can stop other dice rolling when they hit their targets with the timer running all the time.

When you get to this stage, it’ll just be a matter of adding a MouseDown event to the canvas that will reroll its dice target value.

If you get stuck, post a link to your binary and I’m sure people will happily help you in the right direction from where you are.

1 Like