Selecting a table to do an insert

I’m new to Xojo and have a little experience of SQL. I have an existing database called MGA with two tables called: Cards and Classes. These I am displaying in a Listbox. I now want to insert a record in table Cards. I have written some code but, as I don’t know how to select the table Cards, and can’t find an example in the Xojo documentation. I’m getting an error saying ‘There is more that one item with this name and it’s not clear to which this refers’. Here is my code. How do I select table Cards?
Thanks in advance,
Keith

Dim dbFile as foldeitem = SpecialFolder.Desltop.Child(“MGA.s3db”)
DB = new SQLiteDatabase
DB.DatabaseFile = dbFile

// Here I need to select table Cards

Dim row as new DatabaseRecord
row.Column(“Title1”) = “John”
row.Column(“Title2”) = “Sam”

db.InsertRecord(“Cards”, row)

Personally I dislike that method for manipulating records… I believe SQL is a much easier way to do it

This is off the top of my head… so you may need to refer to the LangRef but this should give you the idea

dim t1 as string="John"
dim t2 as string="Sam"
db.ExecuteSQL("INSERT into CARDS (title1,title2) VALUES("+chrb(34)+t1+chrb(34)+","+chrb(34)+t2+chrb(34)+")")

Which line generates that error?

This isnt your actual code, I guess…

Dim dbFile as foldeitem = SpecialFolder.Desltop.Child(“MGA.s3db”)

Dim dbFile as folderitem = SpecialFolder.Desktop.Child(“MGA.s3db”)

You do need to OPEN the database

If Not db.Connect Then MsgBox("Open database failed") End If

Once you have the database open, you need a recordset (which is where you specify which table you want to hit)
And you do the insert into the recordset

And as Dave says, often its easier just to do the whole thing in one shot by saying
add a new record to table cards, by populating the fields title1 and title2 with the values ‘apple’ and ‘orange’

Yes the folder error was a typo!

All the row.column lines gave the error I reported

I’ll try the SQL approach as it sounds simpler.