RTF Alignment Surprise

When I started coding with Xojo (some version from 2016), I tried to write an RTF editor for my own needs. A big problem was that paragraph alignment was not kept when writing the RTF data from the TextArea to a file – which has also been an inconclusive point of discussion in this forum –, so I had to write some clumsy workarounds.

Yesterday I started all over again to write an RTF editor (with Xojo 2017r2), and now paragraph alignments are stored while saving and restored when loading a file. Aside from using the newer Xojo version the only difference from my former code is that now – when saving a file – I write the RTF data from the TextArea to a String variable and do some adjustments (German special characters etc.) before then saving the String to a file (instead of straighforward saving the RTF data of the TextArea to the file).

So a question just out of curiosity: Have there been any changes as to how Xojo handles RTF data in newer versions, or is it just the String detour that enables the alignment to be kept (which would have been possible in earlier versions of Xojo)?

In the time it took you to write this post you probably could have tried it out :wink:

You could also check feedback (search for rtf or alignment)

I have no older version of Xojo on my computer anymore and I did not want to rewrite my whole code just for curiosity purposes (and I could not find anything related in the forum) …

@Jens Knipp - you work with Mac or Windows ?
Did you notice that the Mac Textarea behaves different from the Windows Textarea ?

I write on a Mac, but compile for Windows and MacOS. The MacOS version of my editor uses a custom Module with some declares to enhance speed when working with RTF data; the Windows version just uses Xojo’s RTFData property. Either way the files keep alignment when saved (in both Windows on my testing system and on MacOS).