Responsive GUI

Hello, im new to xojo
i would like to ask if there is a way to run heavy process/task while keeping the UI alive without using threading in xojo
thanks in advance

Worker f.e.

1 Like

or use Shell class to run a console app made in Xojo.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply
should i use the Shell class to run the lengthy task?

thank you for your reply

Hi Jana:

As a Xojo beginner and not knowing about workers, shells and threads, I simply splattered app.doevents throughout my computationally intensive code. This achieved what you want to do. I thought I had failed, but then discovered that it was Microsoft Defender that was messing with me. After switching to a different anti-virus, Xojo code flew.

My plan is to move the computations to a thread, but that has low priority at present because the current Xojo code is good enough to process 500 data points a second while allowing for user interaction.

App.DoEvents is horrible advice for a Desktop application.

There simply aren’t enough experts left to explain why it’s a terrible idea, so you can either accept that it is or you can wonder why your app crashes in the future. I am not arguing with a brick wall today.

10 Likes

I second @Tim_Parnell in this. Don’t do that. DoEvents is a command meant only for console apps to facilitate a main event loop. Use of the command for anything else basically makes your apps do things that are not debuggable and by the time you realize that, it’s going to require huge amounts of refactoring to fix.

Use Threads, Workers and/or Console to accomplish this and you’ll be much happier on the long run.

@Xojo, how about deprecating DoEvents for desktop projects… or even better, make it a no-op!

8 Likes

No. Been using it (sparingly) for decades without issues, despite all the dire warnings.

2 Likes

There’s also @Kem_Tekinay’s Looper thing:

1 Like

Aaron Ballman (a previous staff member) has something to say about that attitude:
Why Is App.DoEvents Evil

3 Likes