Reduce compile time

Hey XOJO community,

I have to maintain a very big XOJO desktop application. I don’t have numbers as it’s hard to do with the XOJO IDE but it takes around 6-7 min to compile.
As you may think, those times make myself very addicted to coffee. I have so much spare time after pressing the run button, I think we can all agree on reducing it would enhance our productivity.

Well there are several challenges to unpack here. First of all, I know, XOJO was never designed to build such a massive application. But people still did. And as a software engineer I have to come up with a way forward to maintain it. We even introduced continues integration with Drone and XOJO - which was, frankly, just pain due to the “locked in nature” of XOJOs compiler bundled in the GUI based IDE.

Well the other thing which already would help I call a “pure XOJO based plugin mechanism”. We would be able to link modules to our code (which are written in pure XOJO and not like the current plugins in C), reducing the amount of code to compile by decomposition.

Secondly, of course the compiler could be enhanced, using multiple threads, etc. I know that’s not the easiest request to do.

I hope I get some feedback by the XOJO community if one of the two things is “in sight” in the foreseeable future. Would help to please the “long term customers” as they tend to build bigger applications (monoliths and technical debts) over time.

Best!

it it really the project or maybe the count of installed plugins?

Hey Markus,

thanks for your reply!
The plugins initialize themselfs only once. If I compile different projects with the same set of external plugins and the compile time is much faster. So this is no concern at all.

Best

have you set any compile optimization level in build settings shared in this project?

can you tell how much windows, classes and mega byte source code this project have?
pc specifications?
i would test the compile time with and without installed anti virus.