Receiving Variable-length Serial Message

I’m from the microcontroller world where sending and receiving serial data is pretty straightforward. I’m looking for guidance on converting a process I use in a microcontroller to work in Xogo.

This is for a serial connection with an XBee radio device using the API-1 mode. Sending a message is not a problem. Where things can get tricky is receiving messages, as they can vary in length and don’t have a specific terminating character. A message could look like this:

7E 00 06 88 02 41 50 00 01 E3

In the micro controller world I run a method that does this:

1. Is first byte 7E? (if no, abort)
  2. is second byte 00? (if no, abort)
  3. This byte defines the length of the rest of the message minus one (note that 7 bytes follow the 06)
  4. Grab the other bytes and set a “hasMessage” flag to be dealt with elsewhere

Again, I’m new to Xojo (a couple weeks in), but I have always found doing something meaningful beats running through demos that do no apply to what I’m doing. Unfortunately, the only official serial demo is about receiving terminated strings – nothing byte-by-byte.

Any advice or guidance is appreciated.

you should be able to use the “read” method for the serial class
the first parameter is the number of byte(s) to read.

https://documentation.xojo.com/api/deprecated/serial.html

https://documentation.xojo.com/api/language/readable.html#readable-read

That 7th byte in the payload is a checksum if I am right, so you need to read it, it’s part of the message.

One thing you could do is receive characters in a FIFO buffer. This way if he sender send more than one message at a time, you don’t loose characters. You would do that in a thread. In a second thread you read the characters one a a time: while you get the characters and everything is doing fine, you create a message in an array or class as you wish.

Char #1 is 7E, copy it to the new message
Char #2 is 00, copy it at the end of the new message