Raspberry pi display

I’m very new to Raspberry Pi. So far I’ve only been using it with Xojo built apps without any hardware interface.
I need to find a small display that can show a bit of text. I’m not thinking of a touch-screen or full color “monitor”, more like the LED displays from a calculator.
Anyone have any suggestions?

something like this :

lots of displays here too :

1 Like

Wow, there are great options there.
I ordered a few of them. Now I’m sure I’ll break it all figuring out how to connect them and such

Thanks Jean-Yves.

well I’m not a big fan of raspberries… I prefer arduino and more specifically esp8266 or esp32
then I connect them on wifi or ethernet and connect them to xojo using tcpsocket.
a raspberry is really overkill to display small things or measure some temperature.

2 Likes

I’m not familiar with those other options.
I’m doing a lot more than just displaying messages though, so I do need a bit of processing muscle, and the PI seems appropriate.

1 Like

Hello Jean-Yves,

I have now a Raspi 4B and a Arduino Uno.
With the Arduino Uno we now finished a project ( P5.JS, SerialControl , Uno for input…: ) but this was a prototype for VideoMapping and discovering P5…

As I saw your posting : I want to build a solution to control the watering of my garden
But I don’t have much sensors and valves.

Is Arduino a good choice to do it ?
I saw there are solutions for Raspi

Thanks and BR Rainer

an arduino will be more than enough for some valves and sensors.
for me, the raspberry is only needed if you need computing power, or a nice user interface with a touchscreen (and xojo indeed)
otherwise, an arduino, or better an esp8266 or esp32 will have more than enough power to commute some valves or read sensors. even be an html server with some displays.
look at this as an example of what is possible with an esp8266 !

1 Like

Thats cool, thank you very much…
BR Rainer