Questions about web version of Xojo - considering purchase

I’m considering picking up the web version at the discounted price. I’ve been using the desktop for about a year.

1. Can I create apps to use on WordPress Websites?
  2. Do I need the Xojo Cloud to make this stuff work?
  3. Can I recompile apps written for the desktop and target web? I’m assuming some stuff won’t be supported and tweaks/changes will be needed

I’ve been using WordPress for several years, XoJo for about a year as mentioned and I have a programming background.

Any other feedback and suggestions would be great.

Thanks!

1 Like

If your WordPress website is hosted on a server that you have control over, yes. If you are thinking about wp.com hosting or managed / shared hosting where you are not provided command line access, then no.

No, Xojo Cloud is their one-click-done solution. You are able to host Xojo Web apps on your own Linux, Mac, or Windows server. I make a tool called Lifeboat that helps set up Linux servers. There are also a handful of tutorial articles floating around if you are interested in learning about all the moving pieces.

No, you will need to start a new Web project. You can use existing logic code, but code for interface items may need tweaks.

Happy coding!

4 Likes

If you mean integrate with wordpress, NO, unless you make a page with an iFrame where you include your webapp

What tim said

MOST stuff is not supported, controls have limited events, you have to consider the roundtrip to the server for interactions, in most cases you have to redesing the entire GUI to adapt it

1 Like

Thanks Tim. Your answers are as I expected, which is fine. :slight_smile:

Thanks Ivan!

So if I create and put on my hosting account, will the app be accessed via a link created by XoJo?

That would be a feature of Xojo Cloud, the ability to publish straight to the web from the IDE. If you don’t want to set up your own server, Xojo Cloud is the easiest of all the options.