PWM through I2C

Hi, brand new to the forum. Have been playing with Xojo for a few weeks. RPi a few weeks longer than that.

While I’m new to Xojo and RPi, I have done some programming in Visual Basic back in the day, as well as industrial automation, more so PLC’s, and also CoDeSys.

I bought the “I wish I knew how to…” book, and have gone though a lot of it. In the I2C section, I didn’t really see an example that applied to what I was trying to do. Trying to output a PWM signal for LED dimming through a PCA9685 that’s on a Waveshare Fan HAT (https://www.waveshare.com/fan-hat.htm).

Any pointers of where to start on that would be great. I already have my GUI and all variables to go with that already set up. I have a scale of 0-100 for my output value, but obviously that will need to be scaled for output to the PCA9685.

Ha. well as a lapsed electrical engineer, PWM is something I’d let a motor controller (ie hardware) handle directly, those things are cheap as chips (literally) and have outputs to suit whatever the load is (AC/DC motor, stepping motor, heater, fan etc). These can include inputs for a position encoder or tachometer to provide closed-loop feedback, even complete PID control. The RPi would then only need to set a direction bit and speed or position setpoint in whatever format the motor controller used - analog (4…20mA, 0…5V, 0…10V etc) or digital (8 or 16 bits) and let the controller do the rest.

No need to waste CPU time doing something hardware does perfectly well, and in some cases better.

1 Like

I may not have been 100% clear with my description. I guess I’m not sending a PWM signal TO the HAT, but using it to generate the PWM signal. The reason for using this HAT is that it outputs a 5v signal, which works better than 3.3v from the GPIO pins, for the MOSFETs that I’m using to drive the LEDs.

@Rudy_Ryzebol,