Project Locations?

Hi - newbie here - I bought the Xojo license a month or so ago and built two small applications - one to run on a Raspberry Pi and the other for Mac OS. My desktop license runs on a MacBook Pro. Several weeks have got by and I decided to write a new application based on the “meat” of one of the others. However, my projects have vaporized - I cannot locate them anywhere! When I start up Xojo and click on the Recent Projects" tab on the left, it shows my projects. But when I click on any of them (including the Xojo-supplied “Tutorial Desktop”) I get an error like “Unable to locate item”, yada, yada, yada… The error box seems to indicate that it is looking in HD:Private:Var:folders:j0:…Temporary Items:my_RPI_project

What the heck is going on? Where are my projects?

Where did you save them to? Do you see the myProject.xojo_binary_project file there?

I just saved them to whatever the default location would be. There is nothing in that location. Even the tutorial is not there.

I don’t know what the “default location” would be since I always save mine to a specific folder. I assume it might be the Documents Folder. If there’s nothing on your hard drive, and you can’t find them with a search, then you’ll have to rely on your backup device. You do have a backup device, don’t you?

If that (or similar) is the path it is storing it too… then yeah … they will be gone as the computer trashes that on each reboot

Well, that completely sucks. Why would the developers set a temporary place as the default to store a project if it gets blasted upon a re-boot?

Yes, I do have backup - I use Time Machine and it has saved my bacon on many occasions. I’ve looked around for those temporary things but don’t seem to be around.

Welll… “they” didn’t… somehow (and I can’t say how)… that happened when you installed Xojo or ran it the first time.

As to Time Machine… quit looking… you’ll not find them…since TM doesn’t back up “temporary” files.