Problems with encodings

Hi,

I have been programming for some time, but I am new to Xojo and have just finished working through the Introduction.

I am now trying to write an app that will process legacy files, which means it has to deal with codings other than UTF-8. However, I am having problems with the documentation.

The conversion from MacRoman seems simple enough:

InBuff = InBuff.DefineEncoding(Encodings.MacRoman) ’ Tell the system the text is Mac Roman.
InBuff = InBuff.ConvertEncoding(Encodings.UTF8) ’ Convert it to UTF-8.

This works fine.

But a problem arises when I try to find the complete list of the internal names for other encodings.

• A find on “MacGreek” locates one such list (“Codes for Base”).

• However, “UTF8” is not in the list. Why not? Is it the same as “UnicodeDefault”?

• Also, I need the names for the old US DOS codepages 437 and 850.

Can anyone help? Where are these things to be found?

TIA.

I typed in the following:

Var InBuff As String
InBuff = InBuff.DefineEncoding(Encodings.[press tab key]
InBuff = InBuff.ConvertEncoding(Encodings.[press tab key]

Pressing the tab Key after .Encodings. will give you the Autocomplete list of all the supported encodings. I’m not sure which ones of the DOS encodings are the ones you are looking for. Hopefully someone else smarter than me knows.

Edit:
Update from a reliable source, below should be the correct encodings codepages 437 and 850.
437 → DOSLatinUS
850 → DOSLatin1

1 Like

Many thanks, Tom!

But when I press the Tab key, the list only appears for an instant: then it disappears!

P.S. What about Windows-1252?

1 Like

The list will stay open and scrollable until you click a selection or click outside the list to close it. I suspect you may be unintentionally clicking outside the list?

Per my reliable source 1252 will give you some trouble since its not a well defined “standard”.

en.wikipedia.org

Windows-1252